45 and Counting

Paula Carnes

Seven is my lucky number, so I was very happy to plan our wedding for June 7th forty-five years ago this week. Pete and I had both just finished the school year. Indeed, Pete spent that Saturday morning doing paperwork at the school were we met. He was the guidance counselor, and I was the Bible teacher in a Tennessee public junior high school.

His pick-up line for me was, “What’s a good looking lady like you doing teaching Bible?” That worked for me.

Image

It is now 45 years later, and we are happily married. Sometime during those years I read a book by Judith Wallerstein and Sandra Blakeslee called “The Good Marriage.” She describes different types of marriages and how they work. I found myself described in this paragraph:

“Every good marriage provides healing. We marry with the hope that our sadnesses will be comforted, that a loving partner…

View original post 206 more words

Leave a Reply

