Two mirroring worlds

Waar mijn pen ligt, ben ik thuis

*

Ships sing songs of the sea

their skippers conducting

from sea chart scores

*

Instruments sail upon a sea of song

the musicians’ crew

plotting the melody course

*

Sailor and musician: each in their own way

searching for perfect harmony

at life’s horizon

-*-

Dear visitor,

Welcom to my blog with essays and poems about music and sailing.

Ever since I was a little boy I have been fascinated by sailing boats. I always wanted to be a sailor, never realizing the age of sail had long gone. I found pleasure in drawing three- and four-masters running on high seas under all sail, imagining I was the captain at the wheel. When it came to real sailing I looked forward to the annual fair in my birth city of Groningen. There always would be a merry-go-round with tiny boats really floating on water. The trick was to pull a…

View original post 1,283 more words

One thought on “Two mirroring worlds

Leave a Reply

