Why Am I Doing Poetry Reviews?

African Soulja

Hooded renegade

This is hard but I will get it over. Nobody can do poetry reviews. Period!

Poetry is not a concept to be put in a jar, given shape, defined. Poetry is a bird in flight, captured by a hunter, a poet, given a name and put back in flight. Reviewing poetry is an attempt to recapture that bird.

When I write poetry, I write in darkness. I put off the lights, because poetry is a presence that visits me. When I write, I don’t edit. I don’t see with my eyes what I write – I don’t need to. I feel what I am writing. Reviewing poetry is putting the light on.

When words burn on my finger-tips and smell on my breath, when I feel the cold of alphabets blow; in ordered, almost spiritual self-arrangement one after the other into my room, reviewing poetry is like blanketing myself from…

View original post 240 more words

Leave a Reply

