In preparation for April: (US) National Poetry Month

Kinna Reads

Poetry is celebrated every April in the United States. The National Poetry Month was introduced in 1996 by the Academy of American Poets to increase awareness and appreciation of poetry. The UK celebrates poetry in the month of October. Since I love poetry, I will join in the celebrations for both April and October.  I will feature a poem on most days in April.  Yummy.

I’ve kicked off my preparations by reading through my favorite book on reading poetry.  This is, of course, How to Read a Poem and Fall in Love with Poetry by the poet and academic Edward Hirsch.  Published in 1999, the book is a bestseller.  Please grab a copy and read it, if you haven’t done so already.  If you own a copy, please revisit the book.  I love this book. For it is a great introduction to poetry, if you are a novice reader of…

View original post 291 more words

Leave a Reply

