21 Days/21 Poems: ‘Lagoon’ by Odia Ofeimun

Kinna Reads

Lagos of the Poets A year and half ago, I arrived at my mother’s house to find a visitor from Lagos.  He carried a gift for my mother – an anthology of poems edited, and autographed,  by Odia Ofiemun.  I picked up Lagos of the Poets , intending to leaf through at the time and the book has not left my possession since then.  It has never spent a night at my mother’s house.  I think she asked for it once, I took it to her house and brought it back to mine on the same day.  It’s good she understands how these things work because this book is mine. I thank the poet, Odia Ofeimun!

Sometimes, the possibility of a thing never crosses one’s mind until you behold it.  And then of course!, an anthology of poems about Lagos seems the most natural thing.  Because it has really existed all this time, not…

View original post 705 more words

Leave a Reply

